Journalist of the Year

Kobe Roseman ’18, editor of The ReMarker, has been named “Texas High School Journalist of the Year” for 2018 by the Texas Association of Journalism Educators. Kobe now goes on to represent Texas at the national competition level and will participate in the Journalism Education Association/National Scholastic Press Association’s annual convention in San Francisco in April, where all state winners’ portfolios will be evaluated by a national panel.

“It was an incredible honor to be recognized, and I am especially grateful to Mr. Westbrook and our staff for always pushing me to do my best,” Kobe said. “There were so many people who helped and it really just affirms the work ethic I see in the Publications Suite every day.”

Kobe is the sixth consecutive St. Mark’s journalist to win the state title, joining past winners Rish Basu ’17, Will Clark ’16, Matthew Conley ’15, Ryan O’Meara ’14, and Daniel Hersh ’13.

Entries are judged on leadership, writing, story development and coverage offerings, and visual communications. A panel of three scholastic journalism specialists served on the state judging panel. The High School Journalist of the Year program and competition is sponsored by the Journalism Education Association.

St. Mark’s School of Texas

10600 Preston Road
Dallas, Texas 75230


About Us

St. Mark’s School of Texas is a private, nonsectarian college-preparatory boys’ day school for students in grades 1 through 12, located in Dallas, Texas. St. Mark’s aims to prepare young men to assume leadership and responsibility in a competitive and changing world.

St. Mark’s does not discriminate in the administration of its admission and education policies on the basis of race, color, religion, sexual orientation, or national or ethnic origin.