Honoring Faculty & Staff

As the 2023-2024 school year drew to a close, the entire faculty and staff came together for a final lunch hosted by the Parents' Association on June 3. Eugene McDermott Headmaster David W. Dini took this opportunity to recognize several colleagues for their outstanding work and dedication to the School.
The Ackerman Character Education Award, established by the Edward and Wilhelmina Ackerman Family, honors a teacher who focuses on the total development of students, with a particular emphasis on character and morality. This year's recipient is Greg Crook, Thomas S. Adams Master Teaching Chair and seventh-grade humanities teacher.

The John H. Murrell Excellence in Teaching Award, created to recognize and reward outstanding classroom teaching and to incentivize mid-career teachers to remain in the profession, was presented to three recipients this year: Dr. Dan Lipin, Upper School biology teacher; Dr. Katherine Magruder, Middle School humanities teacher; and Kate Wood, Middle and Upper School visual arts teacher.

The Superior Staff Award, given to non-teaching staff members nominated by their colleagues for outstanding support of the School community, was presented to Brenda Reyes, a food services staff member, and Sherri Sullivan, a receptionist and facilities scheduler. Additionally, a special award was presented to Misael Aparicio, a physical plant staff member, for his tireless work in providing extraordinary services for a wide variety of campus events and activities.

The Senior Master Award, presented by the Senior Master to a member of the school community for outstanding service, was awarded to Elyse Chevalier, Middle School librarian.

The Ralph B. Rogers Alumni Award is given annually to a teacher or staff member who has made an important and pioneering contribution to the School's mission and community. Track and field head coach John Turek was announced as this year's recipient at Upper School Final Assembly and was recognized during the luncheon, along with this year's finalists, John Mead, McDermott Master Teaching Chair in Science, and Dr. Gabby Reed, Director of the Marksman Wellness Center.

Headmaster Dini also recognized several retiring faculty and staff members for their years of service, including Kent Witt, Rick Cerovsky, Kay Carrio, Sandy Hall, Ray Westbrook, Barbara Kinkead, Dan Northcut '81, and Marietta Johnson.

The luncheon was organized by more than 15 members of the Parents’ Association, including outgoing president Cindy Hanson and incoming president Katherine Steinbruek.


St. Mark’s School of Texas

10600 Preston Road
Dallas, Texas 75230

About Us

St. Mark’s School of Texas is a private, nonsectarian college-preparatory boys’ day school for students in grades 1 through 12, located in Dallas, Texas. St. Mark’s aims to prepare young men to assume leadership and responsibility in a competitive and changing world.

St. Mark’s does not discriminate in the administration of its admission and education policies on the basis of race, color, religion, sexual orientation, or national or ethnic origin.