Publications Win National Awards

Two student publications have been named as winners of the prestigious Pacemaker award — the highest recognition given — by the National Scholastic Press Association, it was announced at the association’s fall convention Nov. 12 in St. Louis.
Pacemaker honors went to:

  • Focus specialty magazine — the publication’s fourth Pacemaker in as many years; edited by Morgan Chow ’22 and Ian Dalrymple ’22.
  • The ReMarker newspaper — the publication’s 14th Pacemaker in 18 years; edited by Austin Williams ’22. 

Publications were judged by professional journalists and scholastic media experts. Areas of evaluation included coverage and content, writing, photography and design.

To celebrate NSPA’s 100th year, the organization recognized top Pacemaker-winning publications through the decades. Both The ReMarker newspaper and Marksmen yearbook were honored to be on the list, recognized as “The Pacemaker 100.” These represent a one-time snapshot of the top 100 publications recognized in the competition during its history, according to the association’s website.
Additionally, students working on The ReMarker, Focus, and Marksmen won five individual national awards:
  • Artist of the year — 1st place: Morgan Chow ’22, a series of illustrations throughout the 2022 school year in both Focus and The ReMarker
  • Editorial of the year — 4th place: Axel Icazbalceta­, “Show decency for trans kids,”  ReMarker, April 2022
  • Feature writing — 4th place: Toby Barrett ’22, Keshav Krishna ’22, Peter Orsak ’22, Austin Williams ’22, Jonathan Yin ’22,  “Call me Olive,” ReMarker, April 2022
  • Yearbook page design — 4th place: Jack Cohen, “First pep rally” 2022 Marksmen
  • Yearbook theme package — 2nd place: Camden Reeves, Thomas Philip, “You never really leave,” 2022 Marksmen
St. Mark’s journalists attending the convention included seniors Morgan Chow, Jack Cohen, Ian Dalrymple, Shreyan Daulat, Arjun Khatti, Myles Lowenberg, Will Spencer and Michael Gao. Bobby Hawthorne, writing coach who worked with the journalists during the summer on story content and development (pictured, center), congratulated the boys on their awards.
Journalism adviser Jenny Creech accompanied the students.
    • Jack Cohen, Myles Lowenberg, Shreyan Daulat, Bobby Hawthorne, Morgan Chow, Ian Dalrymple, Will Spencer, Michael Gao, Arjun Khatti.

    • ReMarker staff and Mrs. Creech show off their Pacemaker Awards.

St. Mark’s School of Texas

10600 Preston Road
Dallas, Texas 75230


About Us

St. Mark’s School of Texas is a private, nonsectarian college-preparatory boys’ day school for students in grades 1 through 12, located in Dallas, Texas. St. Mark’s aims to prepare young men to assume leadership and responsibility in a competitive and changing world.

St. Mark’s does not discriminate in the administration of its admission and education policies on the basis of race, color, religion, sexual orientation, or national or ethnic origin.