Faculty & Staff Honored

As the 2019–2020 school year concluded, St. Mark’s faculty and staff gathered virtually one last time before beginning summer break. In a special online meeting, Eugene McDermott Headmaster David Dini honored several colleagues for their longevity and special service to the School.
The John H. Murrell Excellence-in-Teaching Award was established as a means of recognizing and rewarding teachers for outstanding classroom teaching. It is also a method for providing incentive to mid-career teachers to remain in the teaching profession. The program is intended to be a tangible expression of gratitude to members of the St. Mark’s faculty for their outstanding work. The 2020 recipients are Mark Adame, Upper School Biology teacher, Greg Crook, Middle School Humanities teacher, and Suzuko Davis, Lower School Art teacher.
The Ackerman Character Education Award was established by the Edward and Wilhelmina Ackerman Family to recognize a teacher whose work is focused on the total development of his or her students, with particular emphasis on character and morality. The 2020 recipient is Kendall Murphy, Computer Science teacher.
The Superior Staff Awards are given to members of the non-teaching staff, nominated by their colleagues, for their outstanding support of the parents, faculty, staff, and students of St. Mark’s. The 2020 recipients are Susan Alterman, Registrar and Assistant to the Head of Upper School, John Endres, Technology and Network Specialist, and Kent Witt, Security Officer.
The Ralph B. Rogers Alumni Award is given annually to a teacher or staff member of St. Mark’s School of Texas who have made an important and pioneering contribution to the mission of the School and the School community. The 2020 finalists for this award are John Frost and Jerusha Westbury and the 2020 recipient is David Brown.
The Senior Master Award is presented to a faculty member at the discretion of the sitting Senior Master, Scott Gonzalez. This year, Scott presented the award to Mark Webb, Director of the Physical Plant, for being “dedicated to our School and helping us be our very best.”
Finally, the School bid a special farewell to its retiring faculty and staff, including Susan Alterman, Lisa Brandenburg, Jacque Gavin, Barbara Johnson, Debra Materre, Marsha McFarland, Clara Ann Norman, and Curtis Smith.
    • Mark Adame

    • Greg Crook

    • Suzuko Davis

    • Kendall Murphy

St. Mark’s School of Texas

10600 Preston Road
Dallas, Texas 75230


About Us

St. Mark’s School of Texas is a private, nonsectarian college-preparatory boys’ day school for students in grades 1 through 12, located in Dallas, Texas. St. Mark’s aims to prepare young men to assume leadership and responsibility in a competitive and changing world.

St. Mark’s does not discriminate in the administration of its admission and education policies on the basis of race, color, religion, sexual orientation, or national or ethnic origin.