Of more than 120 faculty and administrative members, 92 have advanced degrees, including nine with doctorates. More than 30 faculty members have been at the School 20 years or more. Faculty longevity is a reflection of the great teaching environment at St. Mark's and the dedication teachers feel toward their Marksmen.

Faculty News

List of 4 news stories.

  • John Frost

    Exhibit Features Faculty Art

    Visitors to campus will find a new art exhibit on display in the lobby of Nearburg Hall.
  • John Perryman and Doug Rummel

    New Master Teachers Announced

    At the opening faculty/staff meeting on Wednesday, August 17, 2016, Eugene McDermott Headmaster David Dini shared two exciting announcements.
  • Scott Hunt on his

    Teachers' Summer Travels

    This summer, more than 70 faculty and staff members traveled across the United States and the globe, furthering their own education with experiences they will bring back to the classroom.
  • Mr. Gendason Receives Ralph B. Rogers Award

    At Upper School Final Assembly, Casey Gendason, Associate Director of College Counseling, was awarded the Ralph B. Rogers Alumni Award.

Endowed Faculty Positions

Established by generous gifts from alumni, parents, and friends of the School, one of the ways St. Mark’s recognizes excellence among the faculty is by naming individual faculty members to endowed chairs.

Current Endowed Chairs

Cecil H. & Ida Green Master Teaching Chair
est. 1977

Victor F. White Master Teaching Chair
est. 1982

Malcolm K. & Minda Brachman Master Teaching Chair
est. 1984

Trustee Master Teaching Chair
est. 1984

Leonard N. "Doc" Nelson Alumni Master Teaching Chair
est. 1985

Eugene McDermott Master Teaching Chair in Science
est. 1986

Cecil H. & Ida Green Master Teaching Chair in Science
est. 1987

Founders' Master Teaching Chair
est. 1990

Nancy & Jeffrey Marcus Master Teaching Chair in Humanities
est. 1998

Eugene McDermott Headmaster
est. 1999

Thomas B. Walker III ’73 Mathematics Department Chair
est. 2001

Stephen M. Seay ’68 Science Department Chair
est. 2003

Ackerman Family Master Teaching Chair in Lower School
est. 2008

Gene & Alice Oltrogge Master Teaching Chair
est. 2010

Al G. Hill ’63 Director of College Counseling
est. 2011

Suzanne and Patrick McGee Family Master Teaching Chair in Mathematics
est. 2012

Arnold E. Holtberg Master Teaching Chair
est. 2014

Thomas S. Adams Master Teaching Chair
est. 2016

St. Mark's School of Texas

10600 Preston Road
Dallas, TX 75230

About Us

St. Mark’s School of Texas is a private, non-sectarian college-preparatory boys’ day school for students in grades 1 through 12, located in Dallas, Texas. St. Mark’s aims to prepare young men to assume leadership and responsibility in a competitive and changing world.